Chicken Grease Fracas

Listen, I know there is a lot of murmur going around because of this article in The Express. Let me just say that I can explain everything. It’s quite simple, really. First, let me say that I find it totally unfair that people aim to just attack me over and over because of one or two incidents that may have taken place in the past. The media should get the full story and not just print based on what they see clear as day, regardless of what my character seems to be, to you.

First, let’s address this:

one saw the Prime Minister volunteering to go across the floor to extend the hand of friendship to all UNC MPs, while on the other one witnessed the Opposition Leader turning away before reluctantly accepting the PM’s extended hand and immediately using his handkerchief to wipe his hands clean, literally and metaphorically, of any involvement or association with Manning and his administration.

Now, don’t you think I would have a totally valid reason for doing this? Open your eyes, people! In the cafeteria we were hanging out before the bell rang for parliament and Patrick came in all show-offy with some big cardboard boxes. Inside were boxes of Church’s Chicken which Patrick bought for everyone in the PNM and none for the UNC. While they were finishing up eating, the bell rang and everyone made their way in, but guess what – NOBODY washed their hands. You expect us to shake hands with people whose hands are greasy from fried chicken and lovely smelling biscuits? I think not!(Those biscuits were smelling good, man.)

The second thing to address is this little ditty:

Sinanan rose, ordering both men to sit as he declared in a stern voice: “Gentlemen, I am on my feet.” Both men sat but Basdeo Panday shouted back defiantly: “You are on your feet, so what?”

So everyone has their arms up as though I am so disrespectful! You are the ones who should feel sad. If you were part of parliament you would know we have a running gag where the speaker is supposed to say “Simon says” but no such thing was done. Had he said “Simon says I am on my feet.” I would have remained quiet and you would not be talking about all of this over your morning coffee.

I’m still a bit angry I didn’t get one of those Church’s biscuits.

6 Comments

Filed under Parliament

6 responses to “Chicken Grease Fracas

  1. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Trinidad & Tobago: Hanky Panky

  2. Yum!

    oh oh, poor Bas.
    Doh feel too bad, dem Church’s ppl probably spit on d biscuits. Maybe if Kamla had share roti wit dem las time dey mighta give allyuh some Church’s.

  3. Ramesh

    They shoulda ah open Parliment wid dis

    The Nationals And-them of Trinidad and Tobago

    Run from rape, murder and robbery
    In the fires of screams we hear,
    With bandit rules in our country
    We only live in fear …

    Gun and cutlass in hand
    They coming for all ah we,
    this is the government brand
    we pledge our lives to flee

    Here every creed and race
    Running from the place
    And OH GOD help our nation

    Here every creed and race
    Running from the place
    And OH GOD help our nation

  4. Pingback: Greetings from the U.K « The Extra Secret Blog of Basdeo Panday

  5. egjysppfok lrqnmwwieai kciqktbtnv kcrbaentj agmqdfhiokw

  6. Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Spending some time and actual effort to create a
    great article… but what can I say… I put things off a lot and never
    manage to get nearly anything done.

Leave a comment